music in my street


This afternoon I woke up from my nap to the sound of music in my street. A small group of performers (in blue) were making their way down the street, pausing in a few spots so that people could drop coins from their windows.

(Turn your head sideways. Why? Because I’m an amateur, that’s why.)

My friend Alli remarked that the cool thing about this scene is that the musicians aren’t in a touristy part of the city. They’re walking down a residential street to perform for regular Casaouis. This is a nice moment for us in that we can just be gawkers, and not feel like gawking tourists necessarily.

Leave a comment

Filed under Moroccan music

Leave a Reply

