some happy news


I found out this morning via email that I’m officially accepted into the Moroccan American Studies Masters program at Hassan II university. lHamdulilah!

I wrote earlier that this was kind of up in the air by the time I left Chicago. Technically, I took a big risk by coming here without having the last required document turned into the foundation: a letter of acceptance. That being said, I never doubted that I needed to be here, instead of waiting in the US until I got official permission.

We’re in the last few days of Ramadan, so many people are on vacation. Or they’re getting ready for the Eid, the holiday that marks the end of the month of Ramadan. This means that it’s difficult to get a hold of people and generally get things done unrelated to the holidays.

So I’ve been a little jumpy because classes start up again next week, and I was beginning to worry that things might get complicated. Thankfully the Rotary Foundation has been accommodating, and now that I am accepted into the program I can finally receive the actual scholarship.

I am arriving in the middle of the Masters cycle, since the department offers only one year at a time. This makes me ineligible to receive the Masters diploma. Then again I am to be a student here for one year, not long enough to finish the program anyway. So mashi mushkil!

4 Comments

Filed under Ambassadorial Scholarship, getting things done

4 responses to “some happy news

  1. Yay! That’s great news.

    I hope the program ends up being as interesting as you’ve made it sound. In any case, even without the diploma it’s a solid year of learning something new — and also learning something about the Morrocan education system, which could be equally valuable.

    Best of luck!

  2. pilou

    good news
    what means mashi mushkil

    • Kathleen

      It means “no problem!”

      • pilou

        would one of my students from somalia, or egypt, or afghanastan or saudi understand that if I used it, or is it sort of a moroccan dialect?
        kathleen i need some general use arabic aphorisms or slogans or funny slangs when you have time
        i could use some cous-cous now; i had it all over north africa… however, so far noone makes it better than my muriel…here’s to one of those casablanca beers for you!!!

Leave a Reply

