Leaving


It’s been awhile since I’ve been able to sit down for a few minutes and concentrate enough to post anything. I’m in New York right now, visiting with my sister and some friends before I leave for Casablanca on Sunday, August 29th. This turns out to be a nice buffer between Chicago, where I had some intense goodbyes, and Casablanca.

Morocco has been on my mind nonstop for the past year and a half, but in the last few weeks the closer I’ve gotten to my departure date, the less I’ve thought about my actual destination. Mostly I’ve been preoccupied with moving out of our apartment and spending some quality time with Karl, my family, and friends. As is probably necessary when planning a long stay overseas, I’d blocked out just how painful it would be to uproot and say goodbye to loved ones.

4 Comments

Filed under getting things done, Travel

4 responses to “Leaving

  1. annemarie

    i hear you on the goodbyes…just try to think about the hellos:) can’t wait to see you on the other side of the atlantic!

  2. Thibaud

    It’s never really a goodbye as you’ll see them again relatively soon!

  3. theglobalsouth

    Big exciting feelings! Can’t wait to share the adventure with you through the magic of the internet.

  4. Pia

    Hi Kathleen! I’m sorry I did not get to see you before you left. Looking forward to reading about your travels and experiences🙂

Leave a Reply

