le Petit Maghreb à Montréal


In a couple of weeks I’ll be in Montréal to see my sister and visit one of my all-time favorite cities.

There’s a large Moroccan and Moroccan-Canadian population in Montreal. (Gad Elmaleh is a famous–and hilarious–Moroccan with close ties to Québec)
I’ve been looking for places to visit and found this article on Yabiladi.com: Canada : Les Maghrébins de Montréal ont leur quartier.

Anglophones can get more information in an article that reeks of a newspaper travel section-ese: A slice of North Africa: Petit Maghreb, along a stretch of Jean Talon Blvd. E., is where the Algerian, Moroccan and Tunisian communities share the comforts of home.

Here’s my favorite line from that last article: “Now though, the street boasts…a Moroccan restaurant that specializes in tagines and couscous.” I have to chuckle because, well, there are few Moroccan dishes other than tagine and couscous. (not that those aren’t delicious…)

Years of lobbying by North African-Canadian businesspeople and cultural organizations have culminated in the official naming of “le Petit Maghreb,” a neighborhood that sits high on my list of places to visit when I’m not gorging myself on a Paris-Brest and cheeses so delicious they’re illegal in the U.S.

Leave a comment

Filed under Canada, Gad Elmaleh, Immigration, Montreal, Moroccan food, Travel

Leave a Reply

