Tagine and friends


Lamb and prune tagine--NOT mine, but it looked something like this


Sunday night I cooked a special dinner for a few honored guests. Squeezed around our table were those people without whose support I wouldn’t have gotten the Ambassadorial Scholarship. I hesitate to list them by name because I’m not yet all that comfortable with the public-ness of a blog, but they know who they are. Between the first mention of the scholarship, the encouragement I got even when I was ready to put off applying to another year, the phone call I got the day after my interview informing me that I was selected…etc., I have felt supported.

Sunday’s dinner was special in another respect. It was my first attempt to cook a Moroccan meal, and I was surprised to find that I was more or less successful. On the menu:

    Dates and almonds

    White bean soup, with tomatoes, spiced with turmeric, cumin, and cilantro, served with lemon juice and parsley

    Lamb and prune tagine-slow-cooked stew spiced with cinnamon, nutmeg, garlic, ginger, and sprinkled with toasted almonds and sesame seeds

    served with:
    Moroccan khoubs
    half whole wheat bread with anise and toasted sesame seeds

    Clementines

Of course in un-Moroccan tradition, the meal was arrosé with red wine, supplied by each of my guests.

I might dare add another goal to my already long list of objectives for next year: to cook Moroccan food. Probably under the tutelage of my adoptive oummi.

Leave a comment

Filed under Ambassadorial Scholarship, Moroccan food

Leave a Reply

